Meet the Administration

Haywood County Schools

Chief Executive Officer

Joey Hassell, Superintendent
joey.hassell@hcsk12.net

Debbie Benard, Executive Administrative Assistant
debbie.benard@hcsk12.net

Department of Business & Finance

The Business and Finance Department coordinates the business operations of the school district including budget development, accounting and reporting, and purchasing. Maintenance services are also directed within this department.

Larry Livingston, Chief Financial Officer
larry.livingston@hcsk12.net

Rosemary Moss, Financial Reporting Manager
rosemary.moss@hcsk12.net

Amy Webb, Benefits Specialist
amy.webb@hcsk12.net

, Procurement Associate
@hcsk12.net

Kathy Black, Payroll Supervisor
kathy.black@hcsk12.net

Jessica Reggans, TIF Grant Data Coordinator
jessica.reggans@hcsk12.net

Department of Business Operations & Student and Family Services

The Business Operations / Student and Family Services Department coordinates transportation and pupil services including attendance, discipline, school security, and school health. This department promotes programs to actively involve families and the community in the education of children.

Art Garrett, Associate Superintendent, Chief Operations Officer
art.garrett@hcsk12.net

Opal Hay, Parent/Family Involvement Facilitator
opal.hay@hcsk12.net

Debi Clagg, Office Manager
debi.clagg@hcsk12.net

Department of Human Resources and Strategy

The Human Resources and Strategy Department directs the recruitment, selection, and placement of qualified professional and classified personnel consistent with legal requirements. This department also assists with employee training and evaluation.

Toni Eubanks, Associate Superintendent, Chief Human Resources Officer
toni.eubanks@hcsk12.net

Deborah Woods, School Nurse/LPN
deborah.woods@hcsk12.net

Julie Taylor, School Nurse/RN
julie.taylor@hcsk12.net

Cindy Smith, School Health Coordinator
cindy.smith@hcsk12.net

Denita Jarratt, Director of Food Services
denita.jarratt@hcsk12.net

Annette Blair, School Nutrition Clerk
annette.blair@hcsk12.net

Deborah Byrum, School Nutrition Bookkeeper
deborah.byrum@hcsk12.net

Department of Curriculum and Accountability

The Curriculum and Accountability Department provides leadership in implementing quality instructional programs and customized professional development. Curriculum and Accountability also provides guidance in the selection of instructional materials and textbooks and coordinates district-wide mandated assessments.

Yvette Blue, Associate Superintendent, Chief Academic Officer
yvette.blue@hcsk12.net

Michelle Tillman, Elementary Academic Supervisor
michelle.tillman@hcsk12.net

Jean Wills, Secondary Academic Supervisor
jean.wills@hcsk12.net

Maria Hart, Director of Instructional Technology
maria.hart@hcsk12.net

Kathy Foster, Director of Information Technology
kathy.foster@hcsk12.net

Reed Brasfield, Computer Technician
reed.brasfield@hcsk12.net

Anthony Wicker, Computer Technician
anthony.wicker@hcsk12.net

Department of Assessment and Professional Learning

The Department of Assessment and Professional Development is responsible for the organization and administration of all testing including TCAP Achievement, EOC, Benchmark testing, the Writing Assessment, SAT 10, Plan/Explore, and CRA’s.  Additionally, the department will plan, approve, and document all professional development activities.

Marjorie Vaulx, Executive Director of Assessment and Professional Learning
marjorie.vaulx@hcsk12.net

Department of Special Services

The Special Services Department is responsible for administering, monitoring, and coordinating the special education programs and services as outlined in IDEA federal legislation and local district policies. This department also coordinates the programs at the Haywood County Alternative Learning Center and the Haywood County Multiple Disabilities Class.

Bernice Thompson, Executive Director of Special Services
bernice.thompson@hcsk12.net

Denise Pearson, Special Education Instructional Specialist
denise.pearson@hcsk12.net

Dr. Beth Tripp, School Psychologist
beth.tripp@hcsk12.net

Wendy Hopper, Diagnostician
wendy.hopper@hcsk12.net

Demetris Burrell, Administrative Assistant
demetris.burrell@hcsk12.net

Department of Federal Programs

The Federal Programs Department is responsible for administering, monitoring, and coordinating all federal programs and services as outlined in federal legislation including NCLB. The department also encompasses School Nutrition, Preschool Education, Adult Basic Education, and the HELP before- and after-school and summer enrichment and tutorial programs.

Gina Rawson, Executive Director of Federal Programs
gina.rawson@hcsk12.net

Pam Diebold, Director of Career and Technical Education
pam.diebold@hcsk12.net

Jackie Whitten, Gear Up Coordinator
jackie.whitten@hcsk12.net

Cedric Bunch, 21st Century Coordinator
cedric.bunch@hcsk12.net

DEPARTMENT OF Physical Operations & Transportation

Kenneth Emerson, Executive Director of Physical Operations & Transportation
kenneth.emerson@hcsk12.net

Ed Granberry, Maintenance Supervisor
ed.granberry@hcsk12.net

Lloyd Collins, General Shop Foreman
lloyd.collins@hcsk12.net

Brock DeFosse, Bus Maintenance
brock.defosse@hcsk12.net

Terry Thompson, Office Clerk
terry.thompson@hcsk12.net

Ronnie Wilson, Transportation Supervisor
ronnie.wilson@hcsk12.net