Future leaders elected for ES Student Council


Two dozen students at East Side Intermediate School started the new school year with a bang, securing a spot on the 2016-2017 peer-elected Student Council. Each child took the initiative to write and deliver a speech to their respective classmates proving why and how they would make a great leader.

The goals of the Student Council are 1. Develop leadership skills, 2. Experience responsibility for school-sponsored activities, 3. Have the opportunity to speak in front of an audience, 4. Develop interaction and communication skills, 5. Experience cooperation with peers and adults, and 6. Acquire an awareness of the community and environment. : The Student Council will assist in school projects as assigned or approved by our principal. Members will talk and listen to other students in their class and bring their ideas and concerns to meetings. Members will also lead the school in community service projects throughout the year.

Members of the East Side Student Council are (from left, back row) Lataejah Franklin, Arielle Odneal, Jordan Head, Trenton Evans, Landon Chapman, Kedariyae Stewart, Kaley Austin and Makyla King; (middle row) Arianna Jarrett, Erin Muex, Makayla Ballard, Laiaja McDaniel, Luke Sullivan, Cam Barr, Kristin Davis and Zykerianna Taylor; and (front row) Taylor Bond, Martha Carpenter, Malik Moore, Grace Head, Isaiah Hykes, Averie Parnell and Bryleigh McCord. Not pictured is Dontrell Shaw.

Elected to serve as officers are: President – Landon Chapman, Vice President – Cam Barr, Secretary – Martha Carpenter, and Treasurer – Luke Sullivan. Mrs. Dorothy Jackson, Mrs. Lynn Holt and Mrs. Monica Johnson sponsor the group.