Meet the Administration

Haywood County Schools

Chief Executive Officer

Joey Hassell, Superintendent

Debbie Benard, Executive Administrative Assistant/Board Secretary


The Curriculum and Accountability Department provides leadership in implementing quality instructional programs and customized professional development. Curriculum and Accountability also provides guidance in the selection of instructional materials and textbooks and coordinates district-wide mandated assessments.

Yvette Blue, Executive Director

Jean Wills, Director, Elementary Education (PK-3)

Drayton Hawkins, Director, Middle School Education (4-8)

Brittany Avent, Director, CTE/Secondary Education (9-12)

Krystal Hawkins, HCS Student Success/Ready Graduate Coordinator

Business & Finance

The Business and Finance Department coordinates the business operations of the school district including budget development, accounting and reporting, and purchasing. Maintenance services are also directed within this department.

Larry Livingston, Executive Director

Rosemary Moss, Financial Reporting Manager

Linda Murphy, Procurement Associate

Donna Nace-Hopper, Payroll Supervisor

Terry Thompson, Benefits Specialist

Family and Student Services

The Student and Family Services Department coordinates pupil services including attendance and discipline.  This department promotes programs to actively involve families and the community in the education of children.

Art Garrett, Executive Director

Debi Clagg, Office Manager

Opal Hay, Family & Student Services Coordinator (120 Day)

Federal Programs

The Federal Programs Department is responsible for administering, monitoring, and coordinating all federal programs and services as outlined in federal legislation including NCLB. The department also encompasses Preschool Education, and the HELP before- and after-school and summer enrichment and tutorial programs.

Gina Rawson, Executive Director

Jay Boyd, Family Engagement Coordinator/GEAR UP Services Coordinator

Cedric Bunch, Extended Learning Coordinator

Jackie Whitten, GEAR UP Coordinator

Human Resources, Health Services, & School Nutrition

The Human Resources Department directs the recruitment, selection, and placement of qualified professional and classified personnel consistent with legal requirements. This department also assists with employee training and evaluation.

Toni Eubanks, Executive Director

Denita Baxter, Director, School Nutrition

Deborah Byrum, Bookkeeper, School Nutrition

Annette Blair, Clerk, School Nutrition

Cindy Smith, Coordinator, Coordinated School Health

Julie Taylor, School Nurse/RN

Deborah Woods, School Nurse/LPN

Jane Tribble, School Nurse/LPN

Operations & Special Projects

Jeremiah Cavitt, Executive Director

Tyler Howell, Director, Facilities & Grounds Maintenance

James “PeeWee” Delk, Maintenance

Tom Houghton, Maintenance

Michael Morris, Maintenance

Freddie Taylor, Maintenance

Anthony Wicker, Director, Technology

Justin Latham, Computer Technician

Jessica Reggans, Instructional Technology

Lloyd Collins, Director of Transportation

Patricia Benard, Transportation Clerk

Brock DeFosse, Shop Foreman

Jerrod Mize, Bus Maintenance

Shane Stafford, Bus Maintenance

Special Services

The Special Services Department is responsible for administering, monitoring, and coordinating the special education programs and services as outlined in ESSA (Every Student Succeeds Act) federal legislation and local district policies. This department also coordinates the programs at the Haywood County Multiple Disabilities Class and ESL

Chris Davis, Executive Director

Demetris Burrell, Administrative Assistant, Special Services

Samuel Carney, School Psychologist (part-time)

Christy Flores, Speech-Language Pathologist

Wendy Hopper, Diagnostician

Olivia McCorkle, RTI Coordinator, (part-time)

Denise Pearson, Instructional Specialist, Special Education

Beth Tripp, School Psychologist


Tim Seymour, Director

Grover Harwell, Assistant