Meet the Faculty/Staff

Haywood High School
1175 East College Street
Brownsville, TN 38012
Phone: 731-772-1845

Administration

Brittany avent


Haywood High Principal

brittany.avent@hcsk12.net

Brittany Avent will begin her second year as the Principal of Haywood High School.  Ms. Avent has been an accomplished math educator at Bolivar Central High School, a district-level Teacher of the Year agriculture educator for Ripley High School, and an involved Director of Secondary and Career Technical Education for Haywood County Schools.  Ms. Avent has a bachelor’s degree in agricultural education from the University of Tennessee at Martin, and master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Arkansas State University.  She has been a key member of the district leadership in HCS by being an active participant in the paradigm shift within academics, leadership, and culture.  Avent’s leadership in Career Technical education served well to implement a shared vision for Haywood High School by developing dual enrollment partnerships with TCAT and work-based learning opportunities with local industry. Evaluating local needs is a critical component of creating a seamless pipeline, transitioning students from K-12 to industry and postsecondary opportunities. In the past two years, Haywood High School introduced more than 300 industry-recognized certifications and received over $670,000 through grants. While Ms. Avent understands a focus on Career Technical education and local needs are critical to economic success for Haywood County, she does not forget the importance of equitable access to education through the investment in high-quality instructional materials and opportunities. As the Director of Secondary Education, she has worked simultaneously with the current administration team to provide the high school with structured professional learning communities, implemented cyclical and continuous walkthroughs, and worked to build capacity among the administration staff around ELA shifts and rigor and coherence in Math.  As principal of Haywood High School, Avent will continue the role of the executive officer of the building to lead and continuously grow employees, partner with family and community, and develop an environment where all decisions are student-centered.

Nicole johnson


Assistant Principal

nicole.johnson@hcsk12.net

Nicole Johnson will assume the role of assistant principal/testing coordinator at Haywood High School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Ms. Johnson is a native of Brownsville and a product of Haywood County Schools.  She earned her Bachelor’s of Science degree in Elementary Education at Austin Peay State University and a Master’s in Curriculum, Assessment, and Instruction from Trevecca Nazarene University.  Ms. Johnson received her Instructional Leadership Licensure in October 2015. Ms. Johnson began her teaching career at East Side in 2010, teaching English Language Arts at the 4th and 5th grade levels. She served in this capacity until becoming the Instructional Facilitator.  Nicole served as assistant principal at East Side Intermediate for the 2018-2019 school year and assistant principal at Haywood Middle School for 2019-2020 and assistant principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School for 2020-2021.

Tony Lambert

Assistant Principal
tony.lambert@hcsk12.net

Antonio T. Lambert (Tony) will begin his third year as the assistant principal at Haywood High School.  In this role, Mr. Lambert will work directly with Ms. Brittany Avent and the HHS administrative team to support the teachers, staff, and students. Mr. Tony Lambert has devoted thirteen years to the educational success of students on the middle and high school levels. Before arriving at Haywood High School, Mr. Lambert served at Humboldt Jr/Sr. High for three years. During that position, he served as the Read 180 Teacher, Boys and Girls Basketball Assistant Coach, as well as the school district’s Strength and Conditioning Coach. Mr. Lambert has a passion for building relationships with staff and students and he looks forward to serving in this capacity of developing and mentoring students for future success. Mr. Lambert received his Bachelor of Science in Arts and Humanities from Freed-Hardeman University where he was also inducted into the Basketball Sports Hall of Fame. He completed the University of Memphis Leadership Scholars where he received his master’s in Leadership and Policy Studies. Mr. Lambert has a great work ethic that will help to impact the success going further at Haywood High School.

Chris McCorkle

Assistant Principal
chris.mccorkle@hcsk12.net 

Chris McCorkle will serve as an assistant principal at Haywood High School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Mr. McCorkle spent the 2020-2021 school year as principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School, and he spent the 2019-2020 school year as the Assistant Director at our REACH Academy and Alternative Learning Center on the Sunny Hill campus.  Mr. McCorkle received his Bachelor’s Degree in History with Secondary Education from the University of Arkansas, Fort Smith. He received his Master’s Degree in Educational Theory and Practice from Arkansas State University, and his  Ed.S. in  Educational Leadership: Principalship at Arkansas State University. Mr. McCorkle has taught multiple subjects in multiple grade levels for the past nine years. He completed two years with Haywood County Schools where he has taught 6th grade social studies. Before that, he taught at Ripley Middle School for four years where he provided instruction in 7th grade science and social studies.  Mr. McCorkle has also taught grades 9-12 at Waldron High School in Arkansas. At Waldron High School, he taught many different classes including: Contemporary American History, World History, Economics, Physical Science and Credit Recovery.  Chris brings commitment, excitement, and passion for all students to his new role in HCS.

kelsey nave

Assistant Principal
kelsey.nave@hcsk12.net 

Kelsey Nave will continue in her role of Assistant Principal at Haywood High School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Ms. Nave joined the administrative team after serving as a motivating mathematics teacher with ten years of experience at the secondary level and seven years of experience at the post-secondary level. She holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in mathematics from Southern Illinois University, and she holds an additional master’s degree in educational leadership from Arkansas State University.  As an experienced secondary and post-secondary teacher, Nave has developed a passion for creating students that leave high school prepared to be a successful citizen. Mathematical skills are vital for students to master because they promote logical thinking and problem solving, and students who leave high school with these skills can apply them in their careers and be much more successful than those who do not. Teaching at the secondary level has taught her how to motivate and educate students from various backgrounds and socioeconomic situations. She has learned to develop highly effective lesson plans that motivate students to master the standards.  The accomplishment that she is most proud of in her teaching career is creating an advisory program through the state-funded program Setting Students Up for Success. This program completely changed her teaching identity and lead her to understand the importance of creating holistic students.

 

 


Staff

Brittany Avent,  Principal
brittany.avent@hcsk12.net

Nicole Johnson, Assistant Principal
nicole.johnson@hcsk12.net

Chris McCorkle, Assistant Principal
chris.mccorkle@hcsk12.net

Tony Lambert, Assistant Principal
tony.lambert@hcsk12.net

Kelsey Nave, Assistant Principal
kelsey.nave@hcsk12.net

Lane Gillespie, Data Clerk
lane.gillespie@hcsk12.net

Jordan Clagg, Secretary
jordan.clagg@hcsk12.net

Karen German, Bookkeeper – HHS/CTE
karen.german@hcsk12.net

Vicki Deberry, School Counselor
vicki.deberry@hcsk12.net

Doris Leavy, School Counselor
doris.leavy@hcsk12.net

Jamiya Bells, School Nurse
jamiya.bell@hcsk12.net

Laura Clayton, School Nurse
lauragrace.clayton@hcsk12.net

Amanda Simpson, Secretary – School Guidance
amanda.simpson@hcsk12.net

Leigh Hay, TSW Case Manager
leigh.lindsey@hcsk12.net

Anthony Jones, SRO

Teachers

English

Holly Chilcutt
holly.chilcutt@hcsk12.net

Elizabeth Guth
Elizabeth.guth@hcsk12.net

Jean Little, Virtual
jean.little@hcsk12.net

Shandi Sheets
shandi.sheets@hcsk12.net

Kelly South
kelly.south@hcsk12.net

Fine Arts

Allyson Byrum, Broadcasting
allyson.byrum@hcsk12.net

Datris Cobb, Music
datris.cobb@hcsk12.net

Jennifer Friedman, Art
jennifer.friedman@hcsk12.net

Jocelyn Sanabria, Drama
jocelyn.sanabria@hcsk12.net

Van Wadley, Band
van.wadley@hcsk12.net

physical education/wellness

Catherine Hamilton, PE
catherine.hamilton@hcsk12.net

Chris Smith, PE
chris.smith@hcsk12.net

John Wilson, Wellness
john.wilson@hcsk12.net

math

Cheryl Bates
cheryl.bates@hcsk12.net

Chris Eubanks
chris.eubanks@hcsk12.net

Adam Guerrero, Virtual
adam.guerrero@hcsk12.net

Sarita Johnson
sarita.johnson@hcsk12.net

Zandra Jones
zandra.jones@hcsk12.net

Adron Rebstock
adorn.rebstock@hcsk12.net

Rachel Savage
rachel.savage@hcsk12.net

Jazmyne Singleton
jazmyne.singleton@hcsk12.net

Kierra Smith
kierra.smith@hcsk12.net

world language

Chris Brackeen, Spanish
chris.brackeen@hcsk12.net

Jackie Deming, Spanish
jackie.deming@hcsk12.net

Sulema Leon, Spanish
sulema.leon@hcsk12.net

Cte

Patrick Black, Criminal Justice
patrick.black@hcsk12.net

Callie Coats, Agriculture
callie.coats@hcsk12.net

Cynthia Cresap, Health Science
cynthia.cresap@hcsk12.net

Tim Hayes, Culinary Arts
tim.hayes@hcsk12.net

Sarah Haynes, Family Consumer Science
sarah.haynes@hcsk12.net

Lisa Heflin, Health Science
lisa.heflin@hcsk12.net

Guain Holloman, Business
guain.holloman@hcsk12.net

Jereeka Johnson, Health Science
jereeka.johnson@hcsk12.net

John Joyner, Agriculture
john.joyner@hcsk12.net

Madison Lewis, Agriculture
madison.lewis@hcsk12.net

James Moss, Electrical I & II
james.moss@hcsk12.net

Amy Webb, Business
amy.webb@hcsk12.net

science

Frank Chapman, Virtual
frank.chapman@hcsk12.net

Tameka Forrest, Chemistry
tameka.forrest@hcsk12.net

Brad Henry, Chemistry
brad.henry@hcsk12.net

Brian Ivey, Science
brian.ivey@hcsk12.net

Maclin Williamson, Biology
maclin.williamson@hcsk12.net

social studies/history

Zach Harris, History
zach.harris@hcsk12.net

Rick Mason, History
rick.mason@hcsk12.net

Nathan Miles, Social Studies
nathan.miles@hcsk12.net

Julian Stanz, Virtual
julian.stanz@hcsk12.net

Logan Rebstock, History
logan.rebstock@hcsk12.net

Lee Wilson, History
lee.wilson@hcsk12.net

rotc

Delois Dailey
delois.dailey@hcsk12.net

John Parker
john.parker@hcsk12.net

personal finance

Kevin Walker
kevin.walker@hcsk12.net

communications/rti

Kayla McBride
kayla.mcbride@hcsk12.net

CDC

Beth Powell
beth.powell@hcsk12.net

Hattie Starks
hattie.starks@hcsk12.net

Inclusion

Jackie Dillingham
jackie.dillingham@hcsk12.net

Tyann Greene
tyann.greene@hcsk12.net

Tyrone Hines
tyrone.hines@hcsk12.net

Mike Mirelez
mike.mirelez@hcsk12.net

Educational Assistants

Sanidra Douglas – sanidra.douglas@hcsk12.net
Bridgett Leake – bridgett.leake@hcsk12.net
Andrea Manley – andrea.gaters@hcsk12.net
Quintravion McCurry
Augustine Morton –  augustine.morton@hcsk12.net
Quanita Blair –  quanita.blair@hcsk12.net
Humberto Aguilar – EA – CDC – humberto.aguilar@hcsk12.net
Beverly Greer – EA – CDC – beverly.greer@hcsk12.net
Mary Bufford – EA – CDC – mary.bufford@hcsk12.net
Joe Ann Bobbitt – EA – Inclusion – joann.bobbitt@hcsk12.net
Rodney Chatman – EA – PA – rodney.chatman@hcsk12.net
Vicky Smith – EA – SPED – vicky.smith@hcsk12.net

Nutritional Personnel

Cynthia Turner, Manager
cynthia.turner@hcsk12.net
Kathy Waddell, Assistant Manager
kathy.waddell@hcsk12.net
Mary Bershires, staff
Willie Carter, staff
Phyllis Jeter, staff
Deborah Newbern, staff
Jackie Stocking, staff

custodians

William Bell, Crew Leader
Esther Jetter
Napoleon Muex
Michael Watkins