Meet the Faculty/Staff

Haywood High School
1175 East College Street
Brownsville, TN 38012
Phone: 731-772-1845

Administration

 

Brittany avent


Haywood High Principal

brittany.avent@hcsk12.net

Brittany Avent will begin her second year as the Principal of Haywood High School.  Ms. Avent has been an accomplished math educator at Bolivar Central High School, a district-level Teacher of the Year agriculture educator for Ripley High School, and an involved Director of Secondary and Career Technical Education for Haywood County Schools.  Ms. Avent has a bachelor’s degree in agricultural education from the University of Tennessee at Martin, and master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Arkansas State University.  She has been a key member of the district leadership in HCS by being an active participant in the paradigm shift within academics, leadership, and culture.  Avent’s leadership in Career Technical education served well to implement a shared vision for Haywood High School by developing dual enrollment partnerships with TCAT and work-based learning opportunities with local industry. Evaluating local needs is a critical component of creating a seamless pipeline, transitioning students from K-12 to industry and postsecondary opportunities. In the past two years, Haywood High School introduced more than 300 industry-recognized certifications and received over $670,000 through grants. While Ms. Avent understands a focus on Career Technical education and local needs are critical to economic success for Haywood County, she does not forget the importance of equitable access to education through the investment in high-quality instructional materials and opportunities. As the Director of Secondary Education, she has worked simultaneously with the current administration team to provide the high school with structured professional learning communities, implemented cyclical and continuous walkthroughs, and worked to build capacity among the administration staff around ELA shifts and rigor and coherence in Math.  As principal of Haywood High School, Avent will continue the role of the executive officer of the building to lead and continuously grow employees, partner with family and community, and develop an environment where all decisions are student-centered.

LYNN DOLES

Assistant Principal
lynn.doles@hcsk12.net

The 2021-22 school year marks Lynn Doles’s first year as Assistant Principal at Haywood High School. Mr. Doles joined the administrative team after serving as a history teacher and softball coach for the past eight years. He holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in Instruction and Curriculum, both from The University of Memphis. Additionally, he completed a master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Carson-Newman University. Mr. Doles is a strong believer that all students deserve the highest level of educational opportunities. He enjoys the opportunities and relationships he has built throughout his education career. He looks forward to serving the students of Haywood County and making a difference in the school and the community. Mr. Doles enjoys spending time with his family and attending sporting events. He will use his experience and drive to help complete the daily activities necessary to make Haywood High School successful and a place where all decisions are equitable and what is in the best interest of the students.

Nicole johnson


Assistant Principal

nicole.johnson@hcsk12.net

Nicole Johnson will assume the role of assistant principal/testing coordinator at Haywood High School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Ms. Johnson is a native of Brownsville and a product of Haywood County Schools.  She earned her Bachelor’s of Science degree in Elementary Education at Austin Peay State University and a Master’s in Curriculum, Assessment, and Instruction from Trevecca Nazarene University.  Ms. Johnson received her Instructional Leadership Licensure in October 2015. Ms. Johnson began her teaching career at East Side in 2010, teaching English Language Arts at the 4th and 5th grade levels. She served in this capacity until becoming the Instructional Facilitator.  Nicole served as assistant principal at East Side Intermediate for the 2018-2019 school year and assistant principal at Haywood Middle School for 2019-2020 and assistant principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School for 2020-2021.

 

kelsey nave

Assistant Principal
kelsey.nave@hcsk12.net 

Kelsey Nave will continue in her role of Assistant Principal at Haywood High School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Ms. Nave joined the administrative team after serving as a motivating mathematics teacher with ten years of experience at the secondary level and seven years of experience at the post-secondary level. She holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in mathematics from Southern Illinois University, and she holds an additional master’s degree in educational leadership from Arkansas State University.  As an experienced secondary and post-secondary teacher, Nave has developed a passion for creating students that leave high school prepared to be a successful citizen. Mathematical skills are vital for students to master because they promote logical thinking and problem solving, and students who leave high school with these skills can apply them in their careers and be much more successful than those who do not. Teaching at the secondary level has taught her how to motivate and educate students from various backgrounds and socioeconomic situations. She has learned to develop highly effective lesson plans that motivate students to master the standards.  The accomplishment that she is most proud of in her teaching career is creating an advisory program through the state-funded program Setting Students Up for Success. This program completely changed her teaching identity and lead her to understand the importance of creating holistic students.

 

 


Staff

Brittany Avent,  Principal
brittany.avent@hcsk12.net

Lynn Doles, Assistant Principal
lynn.doles@hcsk12.net

Nicole Johnson, Assistant Principal
nicole.johnson@hcsk12.net

Kelsey Nave, Assistant Principal
kelsey.nave@hcsk12.net

Lane Gillespie, Data Clerk
lane.gillespie@hcsk12.net

Jordan Clagg, Secretary
jordan.clagg@hcsk12.net

Amanda Tyus, CTE Secretary
amanda.tyus@hcsk12.net

Karen German, Bookkeeper – HHS/CTE
karen.german@hcsk12.net

Tamiko Hardrick, School Counselor
tamiko.hardrick@hcsk12.net

Sarah Haynes, School Counselor
sarah.haynes@hcsk12.net

Shanell Moore, School Counselor
shanell.moore@hcsk12.net

Tokesha Young, School Nurse
tokesha.young@hcsk12.net

Laura Clayton, School Nurse
lauragrace.clayton@hcsk12.net

Amanda Simpson, Dual Enrollment Coordinator
amanda.simpson@hcsk12.net

Sam Brown, SRO
Anthony Jones, SRO

Teachers

English

Holly Chilcutt
holly.chilcutt@hcsk12.net

Jordan Crook
jordan.crook@hcsk12.net

Kelly Culver
kelly.culver@hcsk12.net

Elizabeth Guth
Elizabeth.guth@hcsk12.net

Don McCraken
don.mccraken@hcsk12.net

Kelly South
kelly.south@hcsk12.net

Fine Arts

Chris McCain, A/V
chris.mccain@hcsk12.net

Jennifer Friedman, Art
jennifer.friedman@hcsk12.net

Jocelyn Kissell, Drama
jocelyn.kissell@hcsk12.net

Van Wadley, Band
van.wadley@hcsk12.net

Kaylen Williams, Choir
kaylen.williams@hcsk12.net

Logan Rebstock, Librarian
logan.rebstock@hcsk12.net

 

physical education/wellness

Felescia Sanders, PE
felescia.sanders@hcsk12.net

Chris Smith, PE
chris.smith@hcsk12.net

John Wilson, Wellness
john.wilson@hcsk12.net

math

Cheryl Bates
cheryl.bates@hcsk12.net

Alyssa Black
alyssa.black@hcsk12.net

Teresa Dague
teresa.dague@hcsk12.net

Chris Eubanks
chris.eubanks@hcsk12.net

Sarita Johnson
sarita.johnson@hcsk12.net

Zandra Jones
zandra.jones@hcsk12.net

Kelsey Murray
kelsey.murray@hcsk12.net

Adron Rebstock
adorn.rebstock@hcsk12.net

Jazmyne Singleton
jazmyne.singleton@hcsk12.net

 

world language

Chris Brackeen, Spanish
chris.brackeen@hcsk12.net

Sulema Leon, Spanish
sulema.leon@hcsk12.net

Richard Nash, Spanish
richard.nash@hcsk12.net

Cte

Patrick Black, Criminal Justice
patrick.black@hcsk12.net

Kelli Bonifer, Culinary Arts
kelli.bonifer@hcsk12.net

Beca Breckenridge
beca.breckenridge@hcsk12.net

Callie Coats, Agriculture
callie.coats@hcsk12.net

Cynthia Cresap, Health Science
cynthia.cresap@hcsk12.net

Brandon Goodwin, Business
brandon.goodwin@hcsk12.net

Lisa Heflin, Health Science
lisa.heflin@hcsk12.net

Guain Holloman, Business
guain.holloman@hcsk12.net

John Joyner, Agriculture
john.joyner@hcsk12.net

James Moss, Electrical I & II
james.moss@hcsk12.net

Dusty Rhodes
dusty.rhodes@hcsk12.net

Rachel Savage, Information Technology
rachel.savage@hcsk12.net

 

science

Tameka Forrest, Chemistry
tameka.forrest@hcsk12.net

Brian Ivey, Science
brian.ivey@hcsk12.net

John Ragan, Science
john.ragan@hcsk12.net

Maclin Williamson, Biology
maclin.williamson@hcsk12.net

social studies/history

Ryan Harber, History
ryan.harber@hcsk12.net

Zach Harris, History
zach.harris@hcsk12.net

Brandon Leek, History
brandon.leek@hcsk12.net

Rick Mason, History
rick.mason@hcsk12.net

Nathan Miles, Social Studies
nathan.miles@hcsk12.net

 

 

rotc

Delois Dailey
delois.dailey@hcsk12.net

John Parker
john.parker@hcsk12.net

personal finance

Allyson Byrum
allyson.byrum@hcsk12.net

 

communications/rti

Kayla McBride
kayla.mcbride@hcsk12.net

CDC

Beth Powell
beth.powell@hcsk12.net

Hattie Starks
hattie.starks@hcsk12.net

Inclusion

Jarrett Cavness
jarrett.cavness@hcsk12.net

Jackie Dillingham
jackie.dillingham@hcsk12.net

Lyndsey Doles
lyndsey.doles@hcsk12.net

Tyann Greene
tyann.greene@hcsk12.net

Mike Mirelez
mike.mirelez@hcsk12.net

Educational Assistants

Humberto Aguilar – EA – CDC
humberto.aguilar@hcsk12.net
Quanita Blair
quanita.blair@hcsk12.net
Joe Ann Bobbitt – EA – Inclusion
joann.bobbitt@hcsk12.net
Mary Bufford – EA – CDC
mary.bufford@hcsk12.net
Rodney Chatman – EA – PA
rodney.chatman@hcsk12.net
Sanidra Douglas
sanidra.douglas@hcsk12.net
Beverly Greer – EA – CDC
beverly.greer@hcsk12.net
Cuwannia Kent
cuwannia.kent@hcsk12.net
Andrea Manley
andrea.gaters@hcsk12.net
Augustine Morton
augustine.morton@hcsk12.net

Nutritional Personnel

Cynthia Turner, Manager
cynthia.turner@hcsk12.net
Kathy Waddell, Assistant Manager
kathy.waddell@hcsk12.net
Willie Carter
Phyllis Jeter
Charles Jones
Deborah Newbern

custodians

Latrice Sutton
Esther Jetter
Napoleon Muex
Michael Watkins