Meet the Faculty/Staff

2401 Anderson Ave
Brownsville, Tennessee 38012
Phone: (731) 772-3401

administration


ALEX AITKEN

Principal
alex.aitken@hcsk12.net

Alex Aitken will be the principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School for the 2021-2022 school year. Alex joined the Haywood High School’s administrative team, serving as assistant principal at the start of the 2018-2019 school year. He has devoted five years to the educational success of students at the collegiate level at the University of Memphis and Dyersburg State Community College. Before arriving at HHS, Mr. Aitken served at Munford High School. In these positions, he has been a team leader in addressing Biology standards, pedagogical strategies, and rigor inside the classroom. His passion for student success and desire to experience and understand the world through the lens of science reasoning has had a positive impact on student achievement. His current focus is on supporting teachers and students via the continued development towards life-long learning. His passion for students and teachers, growth mindset, ability to research and problem-solve will serve Haywood High School well. Mr. Aitken received his Bachelor of Science in Biology from The University of Memphis and a Master of Science in Biology from The University of Memphis. He completed the University of Memphis Leadership Scholars Program where he received his Ed.S. in Education with a concentration in Leadership and Policy Studies from The University of Memphis.

 

GRACE FERGIE

Assistant Principal
grace.fergie@hcsk12.net

Grace Fergie will serve as an assistant principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Grace is a native of Brownsville and a Haywood High School graduate. She continued her education at the University of TN of Martin where she received her Bachelor’s degree. She then went on to complete her Masters of Arts in Teaching degree from Bethel University and she completed her Ed.S. in Educational Leadership from Lipscomb University. Grace has been with Haywood County Schools for nine years where she has served as testing coordinator at Haywood High School and a kindergarten teach at Anderson Early Childhood Center. Most recently, she has been the instructional coach at Sunny Hill.  She and her family reside in Haywood County where her children attend school and are all lifelong Tomcats. Her passion for the community and students of Haywood County Schools is evident in her work and will encourage all students to be successful.

 

VALERIE SCEALS

Assistant Principal
Valerie.Sceals@hcsk12.net

Valerie Sceals will serve as an assistant principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School during the 2021-2022 school year.  Ms. Sceals is a recent graduate of Austin Peay State University with where she was an inaugural member of the state of Tennessee’s Aspiring Assistant Principal Cohort.  Prior to the M. Ed Leadership at Austin Peay, she had completed a B. S. in Learning Foundations and her M. Ed. at Union University.  Ms. Sceals has been a teacher at Haywood Elementary School since 1996, and she has taught students in first and second grades.  During the current year, she served second grade as a virtual education teacher.  Valerie and her husband, Barry, live in Haywood County, and their two children graduated from Haywood High School.

 

SHARON CLARK

Instructional Facilitator
sharon.clark@hcsk12.net

Sharon Clark will be the instructional facilitator at Sunny Hill Intermediate School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Ms. Clark has been a teacher at East Side Elementary School since 2011.  She was the first STEM teacher in Haywood County Schools for elementary students, and she has been recognized at the regional, state, and national level for her work in the STEM classroom.  From 1999-2011, Sharon served Haywood County Schools in the Family Resource Center at Anderson Early Childhood Center.  Ms. Clark completed her associate of science in teaching at Jackson State Community College, her B.S. and M.S. at the University of Memphis, and her Ed. S. in educational leadership from Lipscomb University.  Ms. Clark believes in the power to create and innovate, and it is her mission to support teachers in preparing students for success.


STAFF

Administration

Alex Aitken, Principal
alex.aitken@hcsk12.net

Grace Fergie, Assistant Principal
grace.fergie@hcsk12.net

Valerie Sceals, Assistant Principal
valerie.sceals@hcsk12.net

Sharon Clark, Instructional Facilitator
sharon.clark@hcsk12.net

Holly Austin, Bookkeeper
holly.austin@hcsk12.net

Tanika Pickens, School Counselor
tanika.pickens@hcsk12.net

Dimitrius Sneed, School Social Worker
dimitrius.sneed@hcsk12.net

Katrina Voss, School Nurse
katrina.voss@hcsk12.net

Donelda Clayton, SRO
donelda.clayton@hcsk12.net

Felicia Jeter, Secretary
felicia.jeter@hcsk12.net

Teachers

5th GRADE

Dominique Bond, Science and Social Studies
dominique.bond@hcsk12.net

Cecilia Frost, ELA
cecilia.front@hcsk12.net

Dana Gardner, Science and Social Studies
dana.gardner@hcsk12.net

Brenda Graves, Science and Social Studies
brenda.graves@hcsk12.net

Melissa Griffith, ELA
melissa.griffith@hcsk12.net

Lauren Hostetler, Math
lauren.hostetler@hcsk12.net

Lisa Patterson, ELA
lisa.patterson@hcsk12.net

Wayne Perry, Math
wayne.perry@hcsk12.net

Kelsey Shawver, ELA
kelsey.shawver@hcsk12.net

Amanda Smith, Science and Social Studies
amanda.smith@hcsk12.net

Mystic Taylor, Math
mystic.taylor@hcsk12.net

Ella Williamson, Math
ella.williamson@hcsk12.net

 

6th GRADE

Elizabeth Bentley, Math
elizabeth.bentley@hcsk12.net

Tina Jackson, ELA
tina.jackson@hcsk12.net

Paula Lenker, Math
paula.lenker@hcsk12.net

Andrea Logan, ELA
andrea.logan@hcsk12.net

Veronica Matthews, Math
veronica.matthews@hcsk12.net

Lacy Moore, Science and Social Studies
lacy.moore@hcsk12.net

Tom Orr, Science and Social Studies
tom.orr@hcsk12.net

Alisa Smith, ELA
alisa.smith@hcsk12.net

Quawanda Wilson, Science and Social Studies
quwanda.wilson@hcsk12.net

 

AUXILIARY

Catherine Hamilton, PE
catherine.hamilton@hcsk12.net

Eboni Harrell, STEAM
eboni.harrell@hcsk12.net

Angela Moss, Art
angela.moss@hcsk12.net

Minnie Reed, Library
minnie.reed@hcsk12.net

Arethria Turner, Music
arethria.turner@hcsk12.net

 

SPECIAL SERVICES

Tyrone Hines, 6th Grade Inclusion
tyrone.hines@hcsk12.net

Pamela Pickens, 5th Grade Inclusion
pamela.pickens@hcsk12.net

Lee Ann Webb, 5th and 6th Grade Inclusion
leeann.webb@hcsk12.net

EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANTS

Meghann Anderson
meghann.anderson@hcsk12.net
Quandria Booker
quandria.booker@hcsk12.net
Simone Butler
simone.butler@hcsk12.net
Deidre Douglas
deidre.douglas@hcsk12.net
Wardean Mabone
wardean.mabone@hcsk12.net
Brianna Nelson
brianna.nelson@hcsk12.net
Annie Springfield
annie.springfield@hcsk12.net

CUSTODIANS

Ernestine Dewalt
Dossie Turner
Calvin Wilson

CAFETERIA

Leare Bond, Manager
leare.bond@hcsk12.net
Takelia Griggs, Assistant Manager
Eddie Newble
Collette Perry

Lucy Trotter