Meet the Faculty/Staff

administration


Alex Aitken, Principal
alex.aitken@hcsk12.net

Alex Aitken will be the principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School for the 2021-2022 school year. Alex joined the Haywood High School’s administrative team, serving as assistant principal at the start of the 2018-2019 school year. He has devoted five years to the educational success of students at the collegiate level at the University of Memphis and Dyersburg State Community College. Before arriving at HHS, Mr. Aitken served at Munford High School. In these positions, he has been a team leader in addressing Biology standards, pedagogical strategies, and rigor inside the classroom. His passion for student success and desire to experience and understand the world through the lens of science reasoning has had a positive impact on student achievement. His current focus is on supporting teachers and students via the continued development towards life-long learning. His passion for students and teachers, growth mindset, ability to research and problem-solve will serve Haywood High School well. Mr. Aitken received his Bachelor of Science in Biology from The University of Memphis and a Master of Science in Biology from The University of Memphis. He completed the University of Memphis Leadership Scholars Program where he received his Ed.S. in Education with a concentration in Leadership and Policy Studies from The University of Memphis.

Grace Fergie, Assistant Principal
Grace.Fergie@hcsk12.net

Grace Fergie will serve as an assistant principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Grace is a native of Brownsville and a Haywood High School graduate. She continued her education at the University of TN of Martin where she received her Bachelor’s degree. She then went on to complete her Masters of Arts in Teaching degree from Bethel University and she completed her Ed.S. in Educational Leadership from Lipscomb University. Grace has been with Haywood County Schools for nine years where she has served as testing coordinator at Haywood High School and a kindergarten teach at Anderson Early Childhood Center. Most recently, she has been the instructional coach at Sunny Hill.  She and her family reside in Haywood County where her children attend school and are all lifelong Tomcats. Her passion for the community and students of Haywood County Schools is evident in her work and will encourage all students to be successful.

Valerie Sceals, Assistant Principal
Valerie.Sceals@hcsk12.net

Valerie Sceals will serve as an assistant principal at Sunny Hill Intermediate School during the 2021-2022 school year.  Ms. Sceals is a recent graduate of Austin Peay State University with where she was an inaugural member of the state of Tennessee’s Aspiring Assistant Principal Cohort.  Prior to the M. Ed Leadership at Austin Peay, she had completed a B. S. in Learning Foundations and her M. Ed. at Union University.  Ms. Sceals has been a teacher at Haywood Elementary School since 1996, and she has taught students in first and second grades.  During the current year, she served second grade as a virtual education teacher.  Valerie and her husband, Barry, live in Haywood County, and their two children graduated from Haywood High School.

Sharon Clark, Instructional Facilitator
Sharon.Clark@hcsk12.net

Sharon Clark will be the instructional facilitator at Sunny Hill Intermediate School for the 2021-2022 school year.  Ms. Clark has been a teacher at East Side Elementary School since 2011.  She was the first STEM teacher in Haywood County Schools for elementary students, and she has been recognized at the regional, state, and national level for her work in the STEM classroom.  From 1999-2011, Sharon served Haywood County Schools in the Family Resource Center at Anderson Early Childhood Center.  Ms. Clark completed her associate of science in teaching at Jackson State Community College, her B.S. and M.S. at the University of Memphis, and her Ed. S. in educational leadership from Lipscomb University.  Ms. Clark believes in the power to create and innovate, and it is her mission to support teachers in preparing students for success.


Administration/Office STAFF

Alex Aitken, Principal
alex.aitken@hcsk12.net

Grace Fergie, Assistant Principal
nicole.johnson@hcsk12.net

Valerie Sceals, Assistant Principal
Valerie.Sceals@hcsk12.net

Sharon Clark, Instructional Facilitator
Sharon.Clark@hcsk12.net

Holly Austin, Bookkeeper
holly.austin@hcsk12.net

Emily Carpenter, Counselor
emily.carpenter@hcsk12.net

Katrina Ing, School Nurse
katrina.ing@hcsk12.net

Derek Jackson, SRO
derek.jackson@hcsk12.net

Felicia Jeter, Secretary
felicia.jeter@hcsk12.net

Teachers

Leigh Anne Allen, 5th Virtual
leigh.allen@hcsk12.net

Lacey Baggett, 6th Virtual
lacey.gaylord@hcsk12.net

Dominique Bond, 5th Math/Science
dominique.bond@hcsk12.net

Wanda Bond, 5th Inclusion
wanda.bond@hcsk12.net

Mamie Converse, 6th Inclusion
mamie.converse@hcsk12.net

Chelsea Currie, 5th Virtual
chelsea.currie@hcsk12.net

Cindy Currie, 6th Math/Science
cindy.currie@hcsk12.net

Jaclyn Eubanks, Prodigy
jaclyn.eubanks@hcsk12.net

Cecilia Frost, 5th ELA/Social Studies
cecilia.front@hcsk12.net

Brenda Graves, 6th ELA/Science
brenda.graves@hcsk12.net

Melissa Griffith, 5th ELA/Social Studies
melissa.griffith@hcsk12.net

Lauren Hostetler, 5th Math/Science
lauren.hostetler@hcsk12.net

Stephanie Kyle, Speech
stephanie.kyle@hcsk12.net

Jessica Lagasse, 6th ELA/Social Studies
jessica.lagasse@hcsk12.net

Shaquana Leonard, 6th Virtual
shaquana.leonard@hcsk12.net

Veronica Matthews, 6th Virtual
veronica.matthews@hcsk12.net

Lacy Moore, 5th Virtual
lacy.moore@hcsk12.net

Angela Moss, Art
angela.moss@hcsk12.net

Tom Orr, 6th Math/Science
tom.orr@hcsk12.net

Pamela Pickens, Self-Contained
pamela.pickens@hcsk12.net

Tanika Pickens, 5th Math/Science
tanika.pickens@hcsk12.net

Minnie Reed, Library
minnie.reed@hcsk12.net

Ann-Marie Roberts, 6th Math/Science
annmarie.roberts@hcsk12.net

Kelsey Shawver, 5th ELA/Social Studies
kelsey.shawver@hcsk12.net

Mallorie Taylor, 6th ELA/Social Studies
mallorca.taylor@hcsk12.net

Arethria Turner, Music
arethria.turner@hcsk12.net

Jason Winfrey, PE
jason.winfrey@hcsk12.net

Educational Assistants

Meghann Anderson, 5th
meghann.anderson@hcsk12.net

TeQuilla Cole, Self-Contained
tequilla.cole@hcsk12.net

Ashauna Hines, PE
ashauna.hines@hcsk12.net

Wardean Mabone, ISS
wardean.mabone@hcsk12.net

Michael Mirelez, Inclusion
mike.mirelez@hcsk12.net

Keondria Muex, 6th
keondria.muex@hcsk12.net

Desiree Russell, Inclusion
desiree.russell@hcsk12.net

Carolyn Sanders, Self-Contained
carolyn.sanders@hcsk12.net

Bernetta Ellis
bernetta.ellis@hcsk12.net

Janitorial Staff

Phylicia Brackett
Dossie Turner
Calvin Wilson

Nutrition Personnel

Leare Bond, Manager
leare.bond@hcsk12.net
Takelia Griggs, Assistant Manager
Loretta Clark
Collette Perry