2017 Distinguished Scholars Banquet

The Class of 2017 Distinguished Scholars candidates were honored at a banquet on Tuesday, May 2, in the HHS cafeteria. Twenty-nine students were joined by their families and friends as they were recognized individually for their scholastic accomplishments and dedication. Earning Distinguished Scholars recognition were Mary Ashton Barden, Ethan Thomas Baynes, Hunter Bryant, Will Chapman, Adara Donald, Kalyn Emerson, Trevor Ferguson, MiKayla Sinclair Flagg, Elliot Garrett, Morgan Hendrix, Isaish Hess, Brennan Holloway, Taylor Ann King, Jonathan M. Long, Pablo Saul Marin, Tachya Middlebrooks, Telcia Nelson, Kaylin Partee, Mary-Wyatt Pettigrew, Allison Hope Pilant, Hannah Riley, Felescia Sanders, Sadie Sharpe, Jacob Smith, Brandon Rahshad Taylor, Cate Thompson, Taylor Waddell, Katlynn Watson, and Whitley Williams.

Also recognized at the banquet were 16 students who made first honor roll for the first, second and third quarters of the 2016-2017 school term: Seniors – Mary Ashton Barden, Elliot Garrett, Angel Goodrich, Dedra Jarrett, Taylor Ann King, Pablo Marin, Mary-Wyatt Pettigrew, and Felescia Sanders; Juniors – Grace Glaser, Adam Jollo, and Mikala Leath; Sophomores – Sam Banks, Jamya Douglas, Hunter Smothers, and Bendy Yuan-Zhao; and Freshmen – Rebecca Davis.

Organizing and conducting the event were HHS teachers Julie Dahlhauser, Linda Baxter and Glynn Bridgewater. Also participating in the event were Dr. Jerry Pyron, HHS Principal; and Elliot Garrett, Beta Club President.