Haywood Youth Leadership

Haywood Youth Leadership prepares students to become community leaders

Haywood Youth Leadership is a county-wide project of the Chamber of Commerce, the Haywood County School System and InSouth Bank for HHS juniors and seniors. It is designed to foster leadership skills and expose young leaders to the different elements that interact to form a strong and dynamic community.

The primary objectives are: 1) To identify students who have exhibited leadership qualities and the desire to use them for making their community better. 2) To give participants the opportunity to interact with community leaders and decision makers. 3) To present programs which allow participants to become familiar with the various needs, opportunities, resources and problems of Haywood County.

Leadership consists of eight sessions. During the sessions, community leaders will be invited to address the students on major issues, opportunities, and problems of the community in which they have knowledge and expertise. Participants will be given the opportunity to ask questions and discuss ideas and alternatives with these leaders. This program requires substantial personal commitment of time and energy from each student.

There are 27 juniors and seniors in the class. The juniors will serve for two years. Their senior year they will serve as Junior Ambassadors in the community and serve as Junior members on several boards, including city boards, the Haywood County Commission, the Chamber board, the School Board, the Main Street board and the Carl Perkins Center Board.

Members of the 2016-2017 Youth Leadership Class are: Juniors – Amelya Cooper, Trever Dancy, Adam Jollo, Benjamin Rodriguez, Delmy G. Ortega, Landon Wilson, Alexis Rodriguez, Shimya Harper, Logan Wilburn, and Rashun Tyus; Seniors – Adara Donald, Elliot Garrett, Taylor Ann King, Mary-Wyatt Pettigrew, Hannah Riley, Felescia Sanders, Ethan Baynes, Mary Ashton Barden, Sadie Sharpe, Will Chapman, Morgan Hendrix, Mikayla Flagg, Demarko Reed, Jacob Smith, Brandon Taylor, Kamya Burrell, and Quintavious Toliver.