HHS FFA celebrates outstanding year

On Monday, May 8, members of the Haywood High School Future Farmers of America and family members and other guests gathered to celebrate the accomplishments of the FFA students. After everyone enjoyed dinner, the officers conducted the meeting, which included award recognition for students and their successes.

Officers for the 2016-2017 school year were: President, Haley Hendrix; Vice Presidents, Trevor Ferguson, Taylor Waddell and Elizabeth Porter; Secretaries, Harley Whittiemore and Mikayla Hendrix; Reporter, Logan Wilburn; Treasurer, Richard Martin; and Sentinel, Sidney Martin.

The first recognition of the night went to the members who qualified for the Greenhand FFA Degree: Alyssa Allen, Preston Antwine, Emily Baynes, Austin Crawford, Katie Ellis, Alexandria Goodman, Caven Handy, Brent Haywood, Bradley Johnson, Hannah Littlejohn, Luke Scifres, Deavon Shockey, Hunter Simpson, Noah Staggs, Andrew Stanley, Hutch Voss, Amanda Watson, Michael Wiliams, and Katie Walls. Katie Walls is the 2017 Haywood FFA Star Greenhand.

Receiving Chapter Degrees are Treveon Banks, Kableb Kutz, Jackson Pettigrew, Zachary Esquivias, Sidney Martin, Larry Johnson, Riley Ferrell, Baileigh Waldrop, and Jamie Rodrigues. Selected as Star Chapter Farmer was Baileigh Waldrop.

Five FFA members qualified for the State FFA Degree: Trevor Ferguson, Mikayla Hendrix, Richard Martin, Taylor Waddell, and Harley Whittiemore.

Next the officers recognized students who placed in Career Development Events.

Dairy Judging (placed in District) – Alyssa Allen, Trevor Ferguson, Hannah Littlejohn and Amanda Watson

Land Evaluation (placed in District) – Trevor Ferguson, Kyle Leath, Tyler Martin and Hunter Waddell

4-H Team – (1st team) Alyssa Allen, Katie Ellis, Richard Martin and Katie Walls; (2nd team) Hannah Littlejohn, Courtney Sheppard, Cheyenne Taylor and Logan Taylor

Livestock Judging – (placed in District) Tyler Martin, Courtney Sheppard, Baileigh Waldrop and Katie Walls

Horse Judging (placed in District) – Alyssa Allen, Katie Ellis, Hannah Littlejohn, Baileigh Waldrop, Katie Walls and Amanda Watson

Skills (Upper and Lower skills teams placed in District) (Upper team) Dylan Jones, Kyle Leath, Dakota Phillips, Matthew Waddell and Hunter Waddell; (Lower team) Haven Williams, Bradley Johnson, Katie Walls and Alyssa Allen

Forestry (placed in District) – Logan Wilburn, Katie Walls, Alyssa Allen, Hannah Littlejohn

At the end of the ceremony the officers for 2017–2018 school year were announced: President, Logan Wilburn; Vice President, Hunter Waddell; Vice President, Tyler Martin; Secretary, Baileigh Waldrop; Treasurer, Sydney Martin; Reporter, Alyssa Allen; Sentinel, Katie Walls; and Parliamentarian, Hannah Littlejohn.

Sponsors for this FFA are John Joyner and Carrie Smith.

FFA 2016-2017 officers are: (from left, front row) Taylor Waddell, Vice President; Richard Martin, Treasurer; (second row) Elizabeth Porter, Vice President; Haley Hendrix, President; Trevor Ferguson, Vice President; Logan Wilburn, Reporter; Mikayla Hendrix, Secretary; and Harley Whittimore, Secretary. Not pictured was Sidney Martin, Sentinel.

FFA 2017-18 officers are: (from left, front row) Hannah Littlejohn, Parliamentarian; Katie Walls, Sentinel; Alyssa Allen, Reporter; (second row) Baliegh Waldrop, Secretary; Logan Wilburn, President; Hunter Waddell, Vice President; Tyler Martin, Vice President; and Sidney Martin, Treasurer.