Lighthouse Team

HES announces 2021-2022 Lighthouse Team

Successful American Broadway actress, singer and author Lea Michele once said, “A lighthouse doesn’t save the ships; it doesn’t go out and rescue them, it’s just this pillar that helps to guide people home.” And for Haywood Elementary School, 31 first and second-grade students have been selected to do that very thing: guide and lead their peers.

As part of the Leader in Me program, a district-wide improvement process based on the idea that everyone can be a leader, HES created Staff and Student Lighthouse Teams nearly five years ago to facilitate the vision for leadership within their school. According to Assistant Principal Elizabeth Lovell, “This group of students will be utilizing their leadership skills to assist with special events throughout the school year as well as synergizing to make a positive impact on Haywood Elementary School.” These students are encouraged to notice and celebrate the leadership qualities in their peers. The 31-member student team represents each grade level (first and second), and they bring a variety of strengths and ideas to the team.

Completing the acceptance process was no small feat for interested candidates. Each student had to correctly fill out a paper application in their own handwriting, was graded on their leadership skills in the classroom and was physically interviewed by a panel of judges.

Students on the 2021-2022 Student Lighthouse Team are (listed in no particular order): 1st Grade – Isabel Benard, Cedric Bunch, Jr., Helcaarria Croom, Taylor Hall, Tinleigh Lewis, Ian McCain, Tennessee Nesbitt, Eli Pirtle, Moses Pennel, Darcy Powell, Rylee Reed, Waylon Richardson, Iyanla Richmond and JaKyra Whitley; 2nd Grade – Liam Beard, Karson Bond, Jase Boyd, Bentley Brown, Jalee Brown, Brayden Cole, Todarius Currie, Aili Diebold, Gracie Hensley, Julian Jenkins, Zoey Jones, Chloe Lovelace, Taylor Mason, Airiam Pearson, Emily Sandoval, Cassidy Shields, Jada Snipes, Kiersten Tucker, Bryleigh Williams and Azaylee Wilson.