Meet the Faculty/Staff

Haywood Middle School
1201 Haralson
Brownsville, TN 38012
Phone: (731) 772-3265
Fax: (731) 772-3352

Michelle Tillman




Grover Harwell

Assistant Principal
Grover Harwell has been appointed as the assistant principal for Haywood Middle School.  Coach Harwell has been a teacher in Haywood County since August 2007, and he served as the interim assistant principal at HMS from April 23-May 24, 2017.  He holds a Bachelor in Business Administration from Lambuth University and a MBA from Webster University in St. Louis, MO.  Coach Harwell completed his educational leadership work through Freed Hardeman University.  Most recently, he has been selected as a Tennessee Educator Fellow for the Tennessee Department of Education through SCORE.  Please join me in welcoming Grover to the leadership team at HMS.

Tim Seymour

Assistant Principal  

Mary Jane Williams

Instructional Facilitator    
Mary Jane Williams is the language arts Instructional Facilitator for Haywood Middle School.  After graduating from Haywood County High School, she attended the University of Mississippi and graduated from Lambuth University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in music education. She earned her Master’s Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Memphis. Mrs. Williams taught MUSIC AND ENGLISH FROM 1973 – 1976 at Tennessee Academy. Beginning in 1987, she taught seventh and eighth grade English at Haywood Junior High until 2012 when she became the ELA Instructional Facilitator for Haywood Middle School. She was married to the late Wayne Williams and has three children and two grandchildren. She serves as pianist at First Presbyterian Church in Brownsville.




Michelle Tillman, Principal

Tim Seymour, Assistant Principal

Grover Harwell, Assistant Principal

Rachel Dreyer, Instructional Facilitator

Mary Jane Williams, Instructional Facilitator

School Counselor


Krystal Hawkins, Secretary/Attendance

Wardean Mabon, Secretary


Sandra Humphreys

Chissolssi Jones, 7th

Sally Jones, 8th

Sheena Parker

Dana Simmons

Lauryn Spitzer, 7th

Jasmine Taylor, 7th

Tanya Tyus, 7th

Taylor Wilson, 8th


Leamond Arthur, 7th

Darrience Delk, 8th

Kathy Foster

Veronica Kinnon, 6th

Shaquana Leonard, 6th

Lacy Moore, 7th

Jerry Pyron, 7th

April Rankin, 8th

Tanesha Walker


Stephanie Bizzell, 7th

Terii Cummins, 8th

Cindy Currie, 6th

Kathleen Holmes, 6th

Sam Pyron, 7th

Vladimir Valdez, 8th

Social Studies

Chris McCorkle, 6th

Vernon Mann, 8th

Tom Orr, 6th

Amanda Trotter, 7th

Shawn Snyder, 7th

Jeff Wells, 8th

Special Education

Rita Adams, LRE 6th Grade

Carolyn Logan, Inclusion

Pamela Pickens, Inclusion

Flamesha Taylor, Inclusion

Regina Trull, Inclusion

Charlotte Twiddy, Inclusion


Kim Bell, Lab

Leah Bringham, Art

Hannah Chapman, ESL

Xavier Clay, P.E. Boys

Trista Currie, Lab

Michelle Howell, Computer Lab

Gina Taylor, Library

Arethria Turner, Music

Marianne Valdez, Music/Band

Jason Winfrey, PE


Tyion Shaw, EA

Chante Cambell – EA

Deneatra Carter, PA

Avondale Cross, EA – LRE

Georgia Robinson- EA

Angela Scott, EA – Library

Claudette Shaw, EA – LRE


Brenda Chatman Parker, Manager

Mary Lefave, Assistant Manager

Cayolyn Cooper
Edgar Enciso
Edith Hatten
Phyllis Jeter
Kathy Waddell