Meet the Faculty/Staff

Administration

Drayton Hawkins, SHILC DirectorDrayton Hawkins web
drayton.hawkins@hcsk12.net

Drayton Hawkins is the Director of Sunny Hill Innovative Learning Center. He has been employed by the Haywood County School System nearly 20 years. Born in Brownsville, he grew up in Ripley and graduated from Ripley High School. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Tennessee State University. He attended the University of Memphis graduate school for his teacher certification and graduated from Trevecca Nazarene University with his Master’s degree in Educational Leadership.

Mr. Hawkins taught seventh-grade literature and writing, computer and language arts for eight years at HMS and coached volleyball, softball and basketball. He served as Assistant Principal at Anderson and Sunny Hill, then Principal at Ripley Primary School. Mr. Hawkins also served as Assistant Principal at Haywood High School before taking the Director position at Sunny Hill. He was formerly the athletic director at HHS and HMS. His two sons attend Haywood County Schools and his wife works at HMS.

Stephen May, Graduation CoachStephen May web
stephen.may@hcsk12.net

Stephen May is the Graduation Coach for the REACH Academy at Sunny Hill Innovative Learning Center. He is a graduate of Haywood High School and holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Social Science from Union University. He earned his Masters in Educational Leadership from Trevecca University in 2008. He has taught school for 23 years and has been an administrator for seven years. His wife is Suzie McCay May, who is a teacher at Anderson Early Childhood Center. They have two sons, Flynt and Braxton.

Georgia Robinson, Secretary
georgia.robinson@hcsk12.net

Officer Mitchell Turner, SRO
mitchell.turner@hcsk12.net

Teachers

Chris Brackeen, Spanish-HHS football coach
chris.brackeen@hcsk12.net

Greg Luster, ALC
greg.luster@hcsk12.net

Kay Cunningham, Alg. I/Physical Science
kay.cunningham@hcsk12.net

Brett Grant, P.E./Personal Finance
brett.grant@hcsk12.net

David Healy, English
david.healy@hcsk12.net

Timothy Martin, Science/Math
timothy.martin@hcsk12.net

Travis Morton, Inclusion
travis.morton@hcsk12.net

Dave Rogers, TA
dave.rogers@hcsk12.net

Julian Stanz, History
julian.stanz@hcsk12.net

Winston Varnado, Lab
winston.varnado@hcsk12.net

HCMDC

Kelly Thrash, Teacher
kelly.thrash@hcsk12.net

Augustine Morton, TA
augustine.morton@hcsk12.net

Tremelda Williamson, TA
tremelda.williamson@hcsk12.net

Lenora Oldham, TA
lenora.oldham@hcsk12.net

Nutrition Personnel

Christopher Shaw, Manager
chris.shaw@hcsk12.net