The Future Farmers of America officers for the 2017-2018 school year conducted the annual meeting to present awards and name the officers for the upcoming school year. Serving as officers this year were President – Logan Wilburn, Vice Presidents – Tyler Martin and Hunter Waddell, Secretary – Baileigh Waldrop, Reporter – Alyssa Allen, Treasurer – Katie Walls, and Sentinel – Hannah Littlejohn.

Named as successful candidates for the Greenhand Degree were Lori Baird, Shelby Littlejohn, Keyton Benard, Michael Johnson, Lyle Land, Molly McCage, Paxon Nabours, Mason Phillips, Carl Rurkowski, and Drake Sills. Chosen as the 2017 Haywood FFA Star Greenhand for her outstanding work and wise decisions was Shelby Littlejohn.

Earning the Chapter Degree were Alyssa Allen, Preston Antwine, Timothy Bendall, Ethan Conaster, Alex Goodman, Brent Haywood, Bradley Johnson, Hannah Littlejohn, Juan Martinez, Preston Moore, Charles Phillips, Luke Scifres, Christopher Sensabaugh, Devon Shockey, Maddie Stevens, Kelsie Taylor, Hutch Voss, Katie Walls, Amanda Watson, Haven Williams, Michael Williams, and Onterrio Woods.

Logan Wilburn, Tyler Martin Hunter Waddell, Matthew Waddell, Hailey Hendrix, and Elizabeth Porter received their State Degrees in March at the Tennessee FFA Convention in Gatlinburg, Tennessee.

Members who excelled in various Career Development Events were:

Livestock – (4th place) Alyssa Allen, Katie Walls, Amanda Watson, and Paxton Nabours; (alternates) Hannah Littlejohn, Shelby Littlejohn, and Onterrio Woods

Dairy Judging – (2nd place) Alyssa Allen, Hannah Littlejohn, Shelby Littlejohn, and Amanda Watson; (alternates) Katie Walls, Onterrio Woods, and Haven Williams

Land Evaluation – (3rd place) Hunter Waddell, Tyler Martin, Matthew Waddell and Haven Williams; (4H team 1) – Katie Walls, Hannah Littlejohn, Alyssa Allen, and Amanda Watson; (4H team 2) – Shelby Littlejohn, Preston Antwine, Katelyn Ellis, and Michael Williams

Students exhibited theirs Skills in Agriculture Mechanics Shop:

Upper Skills – (2nd place) Hannah Littlejohn, Preston Moore, Preston Antwine, Hunter Waddell and Trevion Banks; (alternates) Alyssa Allen, Mathew Waddell Zachary Esquivius and Bradley Johnson

Lower Skills – (2nd place) Shelby Littlejohn, Lyle Land, Michael Johnson and Mason Phillips

HHS won first place in Horse Judging – Team members are Haven Williams, Onterrio Woods, Alexandria Goodman, and Baileigh Waldrop, and (alternate) Amanda Watson

Participating in the Forestry contest stimulates students’ interest in the forestry industry field – (1st place) Team members were Maddie Stevens, Zachary Esquivias, Paxton Nabours, Amanda Watson, and (alternate) Hannah Littlejohn.

2018-2019 FFA Officers – Selected as new officers for the coming school year were President – Hannah Littlejohn, Vice Presidents – Katie Walls and Alyssa Allen, Secretary – Amanda Watson, Treasurer – Preston Moore, Reporter – Shelby Littlejohn, and Sentinel – Alex Goodman

Teachers and Sponsors for the program are John Joyner and Carrie Smith.